8th grade Home

Welcome to 8th grade!

The eighth grade year is extremely important as a transitional year between the middle school and the high school. Emphasis is placed on academic excellence and respect for learning. An increased mastery of content within each subject area is stressed. Various learning strategies are used to develop student success, and technology is appropriately infused into all classes to enhance the learning experience.

During the eighth grade year students are encouraged to become independent thinkers capable of taking responsibility for their learning and to become increasingly self motivated. Teachers continue to play a key role in facilitating the learning process and developing the students into responsible citizens in the Mountain Lakes community.

Outside the classroom many activities are offered to develop the students athletically, socially, and culturally. These activities include interscholastic sports, dances, theater outings, and trips to New York. The culminating activity for the eighth grade is a three day trip to Boston.

Ultimately, the goal of the eighth grade team is to have students prepared academically, socially and emotionally to enter the high school setting and experience success in the next level of their schooling.

8th Grade Social Studies Teacher: Amanda Taylor ataylor@mlschools.org

Building First Name Last Name Position Subject/Dept. Grade email
Briarcliff Douglas Mattoon Teacher Science 8th Grade
dmattoon@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Jim Mendello Teacher World Language 8th Grade
jmendello@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Melissa Pecarific Teacher English 8th Grade
mpecarific@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Debbie Pelliconi Teacher Mathematics 8th Grade
dpelliconi@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Amanda Taylor Teacher Social Studies 8th Grade ataylor@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Madison Mitchell Teacher Mathematics 8th Grade mmitchell@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Samuel Kalb Teacher Special Services 8th Grade skalb@mlschools.org
Briarcliff Patti MacQueen Teacher Special Services 8th Grade pmacqueen@mlschools.org
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.